When a user is making an order, there may be an audit trail of actions that they took along with when they took those actions recorded against the order.
What actions are recorded in an audit trail?
- Accepting Terms & Condition for a product: Any terms that they have accepted before adding to basket
- Answering a Questionnaire: The answers to any questions filled in before adding to basket
- Products with Restrictive Quantities Allowed: The items that had a max quantity – it records how many were added and that they did not exceed the maximum allowed for that product
How can you view an audit trail?
A user who has been given special permission can view audit trails for any order that has one. A person’s health is considered a “special category for GDPR data” – so it is vital that no one else can view audit trails for orders as they may contain sensitive private information.
The user with special permissions will see a VIEW AUDIT link beside each order that has an audit trail.
What does an audit trail report look like?
When the user clicks on VIEW AUDIT, they will see a pop-up as follows:
They will see the list of items in the order and any special products (e.g. have TERMS, or MAX QUANTITY, or a QUESTIONNAIRE) will be highlighted in BLUE.
Any EXCEPTIONS will be shown at the top - an exception is where the user filled in a wrong answer for a questionnaire, or entered a free text answer.
If they scroll down, they will be able to ADD A COMMENT which will then be added to the bottom of the audit trail.
If AUTO REVIEW is enabled (discussed in a later article), they will be able to view all special products purchased in the last 6 months.
If they scroll down, they will see the full audit trail of every action taken and when:
Adding Comments to Audit Report
The admin user can also add comments to the audit report (e.g. after ringing the customer and documenting what the customer said).
Viewing an Audit Report is also logged
When a logged in user views an audit report, the fact that they viewed it and the date and time they viewed it is added to the end of the report.